Real Estate

We have the depth and knowledge to provide clients with a full range of real estate services.

Our clients include local and national businesses ranging from small entrepreneurs to large companies. We represent property investors and owners, developers, private equity funds, banks and financial institutions, real estate investment trusts, commercial landlords and retail tenants. We work to ensure all aspects of a transaction, including choice of entity and taxation issues, are properly structured to best meet the client’s needs. We emphasize superior service and creativity at a great value.

Practice Areas Include:

Real Estate Acquisition, Development and Land Use

As illustrated by the representative clients listed below, we take pride in our consultation to various real estate investors and developers, construction companies, home builders, lenders and real estate brokers. Whether the acquisition of property is for investment or high-end residential, commercial or multi-use development, Messner Reeves’ experience in this area is diverse. We have experience in contract negotiation, land use, zoning, environmental compliance and due diligence, real estate due diligence, covenant-controlled and common-interest communities, value-added office redevelopment, real estate as alternative investment and more.

Real Estate Lending and Finance

Incident to most real estate transactions are commercial lending and finance aspects. We assist real estate clients with financing transactions including investment, construction and development loans in the form of both temporary and permanent financings.

Commercial Leasing

Commercial leasing is a central component of our Real Estate Practice Group. We assist landlords and tenants on a local and national level in shopping center, mixed-use retail and office leasing. We have developed specially tailored forms and procedures that are invaluable to our retail leasing clients. Our unique experience in this area lends credibility to our clients and often overcomes obstacles where they occur. We are able to anticipate and address the myriad of issues inherent in commercial lease transactions in a creative, proactive manner.

Environmental

Messner Reeves has experience representing clients in real estate transactions concerning property with environmental issues. We have facilitated the effective transfer of impaired properties by drawing upon tools such as federal and state “Brownfield” funding, claims against responsible parties and claims against insurers. The firm has represented the owners of property containing underground storage tanks (USTs), with a variety of issues specific to those property owners. The firm also has expertise in Superfund (CERCLA) cost recovery litigation and in analogous state litigation.

Foreclosures and Creditor Representation

We have extensive experience with creditor representation, including an extensive foreclosure practice and experience in workout and bankruptcy proceedings.

Title and Surveys

We have extensive experience relating to title examination, conveyance, review of title insurance and surveys.

Easements and Licenses

We have extensive experience in the negotiation of many easement and license agreements.

Litigation

We work closely with Messner Reeves’ litigation department relative to quiet title matters, judicial foreclosures and issues relating to adverse possession, prescriptive rights, boundary disputes and unlawful detainers.


Find your Real Estate Attorney

Aaron N. Soleimani

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 310.909.7440
Email: asoleimani@messner.com

Alex Beltz

Partner
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: abeltz@messner.com

Image of Attorney Jaen

Alyson Jaen

Of Counsel
Denver

Phone: 303.456.2156
Email: ajaen@messner.com

Image of Attorney Amy Eskola

Amy E. Huff

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: ahuff@messner.com

Andrew R. Welch

Partner
Salt Lake City

Phone: 801-683-2032
Email: awelch@messner.com

Atienne Benitez

Partner
New York

Phone: 646.595.1100
Email: abenitez@messner.com

Image of Attorney Bartels

Brenda L. Bartels

Partner
Colorado Springs

Phone: 719.260.7900
Email: bbartels@messner.com

Bryant “Corky” Messner

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: cmessner@messner.com

Cynthia T. Carucci

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.220.0603
Email: ccarucci@messner.com

Image of Attorney Marks

Danny Marks

Associate
Phoenix

Phone: 602.635.4016
Email: dmarks@messner.com

David A. Friedman

Partner
New York

Phone: 646.663.1873
Email: dfriedman@messner.com

David A. Reeves

Managing Partner
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: dreeves@messner.com

Image of Attorney Pace

David A. Selden

Partner
Phoenix

Phone: 602.635.4003 direct | 602.702.0974 cell
Email: dselden@messner.com

Deanne R. Stodden

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.605.1579
Email: dstodden@messner.com

Emilie C. Lorden

Associate
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303.226.6091
Email: elorden@messner.com

Image of Attorney Deatherage

Erica M. Deatherage

Partner
Phoenix

Phone: 602.635.6133
Email: emdeatherage@messner.com

Frank J. Perretta

Partner
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5901
Email: fperretta@messner.com

Heather E. Stern

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.209.9555
Email: hstern@messner.com

Image of James Fox

James W. Fox

Associate
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: jfox@messner.com

Image of attorney Jason Martinez

Jason G. Martinez

Partner
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: jgmartinez@messner.com

Jenny L. Thornton

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: jthornton@messner.com

Image of Attorney Carucci

Joseph A. Carucci

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.386.8396
Email: jcarucci@messner.com

Julian Pardo de Zela

Of Counsel
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5912
Email: jpardodezela@messner.com

Kathleen Carter

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.335.7895
Email: kcarter@messner.com

Image of attorney Matt Sullivan

Matthew R. Sullivan

Partner
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303.405.4196
Email: msullivan@messner.com

Patrick G. Drake

Partner
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303-454-5446
Email: pdrake@messner.com

Image

Paul D. Hesse

Of Counsel
Orange County

Phone: 818.523.8997
Email: phesse@messner.com

Picture of Attorney RJ Ertmer

R.J. Ertmer

Associate
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: rertmer@messner.com

Image of Attorney Reagan Larkin

Reagan Larkin

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.405.0482
Email: rlarkin@messner.com

Image of Attorney Spence

Rebecca E. Spence

Associate
Denver

Phone: 720.279.1470
Email: rspence@messner.com

Image of Attorney Hosseini

Sanaz Mirza Hosseini

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.524.4418
Email: smirzahosseini@messner.com

Image of Attorney Donahue

Sarah J. Donahue

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: sdonahue@messner.com

Learn More About Our Capabilities

We’ve built a team we are proud of.
Learn how we’ve grown over the past 25 years.

Footer Logo