Insurance Defense

We have extensive experience defending insurance companies and their insureds, as well as large self-insurers, in a wide variety of cases involving claims related to personal or bodily injuries, property damage, premises liability, and liquor liability and dram shop issues. We defend carriers sued for breach of contract, statutory delay or denial (under C.R.S. § 10-3-1115 and -1116, sometimes unartfully called “statutory bad faith”), and common law bad faith. Our attorneys are experienced in defending such suits whether they arise out of the handling of property claims or personal or bodily injury claims.

Through early assessment and negotiations, our attorneys work to find cost-effective solutions from initial coverage questions through trial and appeal. We have resolved first- and third-party disputes on behalf of insurers and policyholders, from multi-million-dollar claims to simple demands for coverage. We have experience representing insurance companies involving directors’ and officers’ liability policies, commercial general liability policies, professional liability insurance policies, life insurance policies, homeowner’s insurance policies and automobile liability insurance policies, among others.

We are listed as panel counsel for insurance providers in the areas of employment, auto liability, medical malpractice and professional liability. Our extensive knowledge and experience in insurance law enables us to provide our clients with the highest level of cost-effective service handling, not only routine coverage matters but also their most complex and high-profile lawsuits.

Areas of Practice:

  • Bad Faith
  • Fire/Wind/Hail and Appraisal Claims
  • Liquor Liability
  • Personal Injury Defense
  • Premises Liability
  • Property Damage
  • Statutory Delay/Denial

Find your Insurance Defense Attorney

Adam M. Royval

Partner
Denver, Phoenix

Phone: 303-605-1573
Email: aroyval@messner.com

Andrew R. Welch

Andrew R. Welch

Partner
Salt Lake City

Phone: 801-683-2032
Email: awelch@messner.com

Andrew S. Hollins

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.335.7396
Email: ahollins@messner.com

Bonnie Margaret Ross

Bonnie Margaret Ross

Of Counsel
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5927
Email: bross@messner.com

Craig A. Humphrey

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 310.499.4703
Email: chumphrey@messner.com

Dale A. Anderson

Dale A. Anderson

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.612.9128
Email: Danderson@messner.com

Image of Attorney Gilbertson

Deanna Gilbertson

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.209.9331
Email: dgilbertson@messner.com

Edgar Carranza

Partner
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: ecarranza@messner.com

Eilise Dixon

Associate
Denver

Phone: 303.454.2148
Email: edixon@messner.com

Emilie C. Lorden

Associate
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303.226.6091
Email: elorden@messner.com

Image of Attorney Lerner

Erica R. Lerner

Associate
New York

Phone: 646-595-1113
Email: elerner@messner.com

Image of Attorney Reimers

Ethan A. Reimers

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.335.7916
Email: ereimers@messner.com

Heather Salg

Heather A. Salg

Partner
Greenwood Village

Phone: 303.623.1800
Email: hsalg@messner.com

Heather E. Stern

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.209.9555
Email: hstern@messner.com

Image of James Fox

James W. Fox

Associate
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: jfox@messner.com

Jang H. Kang

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.335.7903
Email: jkang@messner.com

Image of attorney Jason Martinez

Jason G. Martinez

Partner
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: jgmartinez@messner.com

Matt M. Jedrzejek

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 310.909.7440
Email: mjedrzejek@messner.com

Matthew Deenihan

Matthew J. Deenihan

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.688.6749
Email: mdeenihan@messner.com

Nicholas L. Hamilton

Associate
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: nhamilton@messner.com

Image

Paul D. Hesse

Of Counsel
Orange County

Phone: 818.523.8997
Email: phesse@messner.com

Renee M. Finch

CSO & Partner
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: rfinch@messner.com

Scott Rasmussen

Scott Rasmussen

Associate
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.430.7878
Email: srasmussen@messner.com

Image of Attorney Patel

Sejal S. Patel

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.612.9128
Email: spatel@messner.com

Image

Steven G. Knauss

Partner
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: sknauss@messner.com

Image of Attorney Cromartie

Trent Cromartie

Associate
Denver

Phone: 303.454.2149
Email: tcromartie@messner.com

Learn More About Our Capabilities

We’ve built a team we are proud of.
Learn how we’ve grown over the past 25 years.

Footer Logo

Messner Reeves LLP
1550 Wewatta St. Suite 710
Denver, CO 80202
Phone: (303) 623-1800.