Labor & Employment

Our labor and employment practice group works closely with clients of all sizes and in a variety of industries to navigate the maze of labor and employment law issues. We work with clients to develop preventive practices and procedures to minimize risks, resolve disputes and effectively structure related business affairs.

We ensure compliance with the law and avoid litigation by crafting cost-effective policies, practices and procedures. Our goal is to develop custom employment practices that provide for ease of administration, business success and maximized employee performance. We also develop education and compliance tools and training programs to implement new or unfamiliar practices. As part of our preventive practices, we conduct internal audits and workplace investigations to reduce litigation risks. Additionally, we are available to our clients on a daily basis to answer routine questions and assist with personnel matters.

When litigation arises, we offer effective, efficient legal assistance. Our attorneys have substantial experience defending employers in every state and federal forum in which labor and employment law claims are adjudicated.

Along with this, our attorneys have extensive experience pertaining to matters of OSHA, I-9 & E-Verify, training, investigation, wage & hour, discipline & terminations, and drug & alcohol.

We also assist employers when traditional labor law matters arise. We have represented clients in proceedings under collective bargaining agreements, union organizing campaigns and collective bargaining negotiations. We have also been involved in advising clients in matters relating to concerted employee activity, union recognition and bargaining and other issues related to employer-union relations.

In addition to the representation of management in employment and labor disputes, we also represent clients in related business planning and litigation. We litigate matters such as employment contracts, trade secrets, unfair competition and covenants not to compete. We also work with the attorneys in the firm’s other practice groups when compensation and benefits issues arise in connection with their practices. Further, we work with executives on structuring and negotiating compensation and severance packages.

Preventive Practices/Compliance Counseling

Among other things, our practice focuses on the following aspects of labor & employment law:

  • Effective Handling of Performance and Discipline Problems
  • Management Training
  • Employer Handbooks and Policies
  • Compliance Audits
  • Workplace Investigations
  • Personnel Reductions and Workforce Restructurings
  • Workers’ Compensation
  • Management of Disability, Illness and Injury Issues
  • Workplace Safety
  • Personnel Audits
Related Business Matters
  • Privacy Issues
  • Executive Compensation
  • Separation/Severance Packages
  • Unfair Competition and Trade Secrets
  • Covenants Not to Compete
  • Nonsolicitation and Confidentiality
Worker's Compensation

Our Worker’s Compensation expertise can address the following concerns (among others):

  • The intersection between workers’ compensation and numerous other employment laws, such as ADA, FMLA, OSHA, and FLSA. As a result, we are able to provide a more complete representation addressing all other aspects of the employment relationship.
  • Advising employers on the return-to-work requirements for employees on workers’ compensation leave.
  • Furthering claims if necessary through the appellate process from the ICAO level to the Colorado Court of Appeals and Supreme Court
  • Defending employers and their respective carriers in all aspects of workers’ compensation claims from compensability determinations to permanent and total disability hearing.

We not only provide our clients with the knowledge and experience necessary for the effective management of workers’ compensation matters, but we also offer the added value of extensive national resources that enable us to focus on all aspects of state, federal and local employment laws.

Defending Our Clients

We defend our clients before administrative boards in state and federal courts with respect to all federal employment and labor laws as well as corresponding state and local laws and regulations. Recently, our activities on behalf of clients have focused on the following areas of our practice:

  • Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
  • Age Discrimination in Employment Act
  • Americans with Disabilities Act
  • Family and Medical Leave Act
  • Fair Labor Standards Act
  • Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act
  • Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act (COBRA)
  • Employee Free Choice Act
  • Colorado Anti-Discrimination in Employment Act
  • Colorado Wage Claims Act

Find your Labor & Employment Attorney

Adam M. Royval

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303-605-1573
Email: aroyval@messner.com

Image of Attorney Dodd

Allison Dodd

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.454.2159
Email: adodd@messner.com

Ann A.P. Nguyen

Partner
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5917
Email: anguyen@messner.com

Bonnie Margaret Ross

Of Counsel
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5927
Email: bross@messner.com

Image of Attorney Charles Cavanagh

Charles C. Cavanagh

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.454.2144
Email: ccavanagh@messner.com

Picture of Attorney Christina Mundy Mamaer

Christina Mundy

Partner
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: cmundy@messner.com

Image of Attorney Krueger

Corey E. Krueger

Partner
Orange County, Silicon Valley

Phone: 949.335.7418
Email: ckrueger@messner.com

Image of Attorney Anderson

Dale A. Anderson

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.612.9128
Email: Danderson@messner.com

Image of Attorney Marks

Danny Marks

Associate
Phoenix

Phone: 602.635.4016
Email: dmarks@messner.com

Image of Attorney Pace

David A. Selden

Partner
Phoenix

Phone: 602.635.4003 direct | 602.702.0974 cell
Email: dselden@messner.com

Edgar Carranza

Partner
Las Vegas

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: ecarranza@messner.com

Edwin N. Schwartz

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.335.7891
Email: eschwartz@messner.com

Image of Attorney Deatherage

Erica M. Deatherage

Partner
Phoenix

Phone: 602.635.6133
Email: emdeatherage@messner.com

Frank J. Perretta

Partner
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5901
Email: fperretta@messner.com

Heather E. Stern

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.209.9555
Email: hstern@messner.com

Image of Attorney Nunn-Gilman

Heidi Nunn-Gilman

Partner
Phoenix

Phone: 602.635.4005 direct | 480.510.7094 cell
Email: hgilman@messner.com

Idin Kashefipour

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.612.9349
Email: ikashefipour@messner.com

Jason T. McIntyre

Associate
New York

Phone: 408.792.5903
Email: jmcintyre@messner.com

Jeffrey R. Gillette

Of Counsel
Orange County

Phone: 949.335.7905
Email: jgillette@messner.com

Image of Attorney Berneking

Jennifer K. Berneking

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.524.4417
Email: jberneking@messner.com

Picture of Attorney Jessica Gandy

Jessica R. Gandy

Associate
Las Vegas, Reno

Phone: 702.363.5100
Email: jgandy@messner.com

John K. Shunk

Of Counsel
Denver

Phone: 303.605.1564
Email: jshunk@messner.com

Julian Pardo de Zela

Of Counsel
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5912
Email: jpardodezela@messner.com

Image of Attorney Pace

Julie A. Pace

Of Counsel
Phoenix

Phone: direct 602.635.4002 | cell 602.397.9871
Email: jpace@messner.com

Image of Attorney Valentine

Kari A. Valentine

Partner
Denver

Phone: 303.547.3611
Email: kvalentine@messner.com

Kathleen Carter

Partner
Orange County

Phone: 949.335.7895
Email: kcarter@messner.com

Image of Attorney Champ

Kelly J. Champ

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.209.9328
Email: Kchamp@messner.com

Kristina M. Wright

Associate
Denver

Phone: 303.405.0487
Email: kwright@messner.com

Lindsey Pho

Associate
Silicon Valley

Phone: 408.792.5924
Email: lpho@messner.com

Image of Attorney Harden

Michelle L. Harden

COO & Managing Partner
Denver

Phone: 303-623-1800
Email: mharden@messner.com

Image of Attorney Hosseini

Sanaz Mirza Hosseini

Associate
Orange County

Phone: 949.524.4418
Email: smirzahosseini@messner.com

Image of Attorney Coffin

Steven Coffin

Associate
Phoenix

Phone: 602.457.5059
Email: scoffin@messner.com

Learn More About Our Capabilities

We’ve built a team we are proud of.
Learn how we’ve grown over the past 25 years.

Footer Logo